St. Barnabas Church is a Grade 11 listed building, built by Lord Cawdor in 1875. It was consecrated on Lord Cawdor’s birthday, 11th June 1878, which is also, coincidentally, St. Barnabas Day – hence the name “St. Barnabas Church”.
It has a Total Immersion Baptistry (which has to be covered for health & safety reasons) and according to records was used on four occasions, the last time being 19th March 1902. Since then, the Baptismal Font has been, and is still, in use.
In 2015, memorial stained glass windows for Joan & David Davies (local schoolmaster for many years) were designed, made, donated and installed by their daughter – Architectural Stained Glass Artist, Catrin Davies, Ty’r Ysgol, Rhandirmwyn.
The quotation on the windows is from Matthew’s Gospel:
“Gwyn ei byd y rhai addfwyn: canys hwy a etifeddant y ddaear”
“Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth”
More information can be found in Church which is open daily during daylight hours throughout the year, approx. 9.30am – late afternoon.
Services are at 9:30am each Sunday in English. See Notice Board for additional information or contact Sue Harley on 01550 760318.